top of page
  • Writer's pictureLanie Perez

Five Binge-Worthy Netflix Shows to Watch Over the Break

I think we can all agree life is more boring when you don't have that one show your constantly thinking about.


But luckily for you, I've compiled a list of FIVE shows you can binge-watch in the span of two weeks. I also rated them because I am quite the critique and if you don't agree, fight me on it! Thank me later ;)




YOU

★★★☆☆


Joe Goldberg is a charming, bookkeeper who develops a crush for beautiful literature major Guinevere Beck. But, his liking turns into something far more sinister and he develops an obsession including stalking and getting rid of those around her who stand in his way...


I guess this is first on my list as the second season was released not that long ago. I love crime shows that involve creepy, realistic scenarios such as stalking and murder (pls don't judge). A part of me roots for sweet Joe, but then another part of me wants to keep basic girl Beck safe. I give this a three-star rating because the plotline can get kind of boring, and Beck is such a generic character it bothers me. I don't find myself relating to her struggle as a struggling college student. But, don't let that stop you from enjoying every plot twist or surprising event this show offers!





THE CROWN

★★★★☆


The Crown details Queen Elizabeth's reign from her early childhood in the 1940s and (in upcoming seasons) to present-day England. Each episode focuses on or around a reputable event the royals face and gives us an inside look of what might've have happened behind the scenes at events such as her Royal Wedding with Prince Philip or The Aberfan Disaster.


I am a HUGE historical fan so seeing an up-to-modern take on Queen Elizabeth's life leaves me intrigued on wanting more! You can read all about Her Majesty's life on Wikipedia but isn't is so much better when Claire Foy acts it out? I give this series a four-star rating because although I love the historical storylines, I'm not a big fan of the cast change each season (as they age they look different which makes sense?). Anyways my favorite episode is season two episode nine "Paterfamilias" specifically because Prince Philip's family is talked about. We get to see how his choices as a young boy affect him later on (and that his Nazi sisters idealized Hitler). But, I can't spoil anymore because I want you to watch it!





UNBELIEVABLE

★★★★☆


Marie Adler is accused of lying about her rape and struggles to accept if she's truly traumatized. Meanwhile in Colorado, two detectives are following a string of rapes very similar to Marie's case and go through special lengths to nail the perpetrator. This series is a dramatization of the Washington and Colorado Rapes 2008-2011.



When I saw the previews to this series I would've skipped it But the fact that it was a "limited series" pushed me to watch it because I didn't want it to be gone later on. I binge-watched it the whole entire day and was so moved by the events in each episode. The dedication of the two detectives to nail this criminal made you root for them! It explores the meticulous details the rapist made sure to cover so the police weren't on his trail. Marie's events mirror how victims deal with the depression and trauma in the aftermath of their rapes. The only fault I have for this show is how gruesome the scenes can be so viewers discretion is advised.




HART OF DIXIE

★★☆☆☆


Zoe Hart accepts an offer to work a stranger's practice in a small Alabama town. But upon arrival, she learns that the man has died and left his practice under her ownership. She decides to start this new adventure in life but needs to win the heart of the judgemental town folk.


Sometimes, the stuff I watch can be brutal so I opt for more cheerful and silly shows and Hart of Dixie is one of them. I like how stereotypical they make the South out to be and Zoe's love life keeps you on the edge of your seat! (go for bad boy Wade or sweetheart George, fiance to Lemon?). Either way, this show isn't some Emmy nominated miniseries and it definitely isn't meant to be taken seriously. The acting is forced and cringy, but the storyline is soap opera and filled with so much drama. Soon, you'll fall in love with this series!





NARCOS

★★★★★

Narcos retells the uprising and the distribution of the cocaine trade throughout the '80s and '90s by following the storylines of Pablo Escobar and his associates. In Narcos Mexico, it follows Kiki Camarena, a DEA agent, and his fight against drug trafficker Miguel Angel Felix Gallardo and the Guadalajara Cartel.


I saved the best for last because I truly believe you SHOULD watch Narcos. At first, I wasn't a huge fan of the first episode, but I know why they formatted it the way they did. Either way, no major American shows are based in South America and it's interesting to see how the DEA deals with drug trafficking. You start to understand how crucial the drug trade is and how it seeps into the economy, civilian life, and government corruption. Everything it touches is soon under the ownership of drug kingpins (military, police, economy). I'm all about crime, but this has piqued my interest in another type of crime... and I'm loving it! In this show, you'll be rooting for the bad guys.





Do you have any Netflix shows you want to suggest? Let me know because I need to binge-watch something before the next semester starts...


49 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page