top of page
  • Writer's pictureLanie Perez

What I Learned My First Semester of College

2019 was a big year for me because of all the stuff I've accomplished. I turned 18, I graduated high school, vacationed in NYC, and attended my first semester of college!


Oh boy, that was quite a lot for an introverted person like me.


But, I'm proud of myself and what I've accomplished the last year. As a qualified, first-semester student I want to share with you what I've learned about myself and how I've improved for this year. Here is some advice I hope you consider for your next semester of college or if your starting school soon!




Building a Relationship with Your Professors


Okay, this might seem a little "teacher's pet"-esque but if there was one thing I learned about relationships with your professors, it is to always introduce yourself. A trick I learned from my own sister!


After the first class, go up to your professor:

-introduce yourself

-tell them your major

-tell them a fun fact about yourself or if you've read the syllabus, tell them what you're excited about learning.

-wrap it up with a question about the class or course material


I know many of you are like "Really Lanie? Be a kiss-up?" But you have to understand that these are the same people who determine your grade at the end of the semester. This is your chance to create mutual respect while your professor is understanding who you are. Think about it, they're grading and they see your name. They'll remember that your name is so and so, remember what your studying and that your dog's name is donut or something. Boom, their willingness to go easy on your first grade will be in your favor.





Go EASY On Yourself This First Semester


This piece of advice depends on the institution you go to and how hard your classes are. But then again no one knows you better than yourself so reflect on who you are and what's best for you.


In my first semester, I decided to go easy on myself and took classes where I knew I could handle the workload. For me, non-STEM classes weren't my biggest strength so I decided to take those classes next semester (or year.)



I think all my ambitious butterflies want to keep the grind going but I absolutely hate being stressed about work. I chose classes I absolutely needed and that I knew I wouldn't be spending so much time studying or worrying about (with the exception of math).


In the end, I got really good grades so it worked out in my favor. I finished with a 3.7 GPA and I'm pretty excited about the classes I've signed up for next semester.


As I said, this piece of advice depends on what institution you go to and what your major is. But no one knows yourself better than you do, so if you think you can nail that calculus class, go for it! But if you have the slightest doubt, opt for a community college class or wait another time when it feels right.




Procrastination is OKAY


Sometimes I turned assignments into Blackboard two months before it was due, and sometimes I literally read, typed, and printed assignments to turn in right before class. I ended up getting a 100 on that assignment... (cue smirky face).


But what I've learned about my first semester is that procrastination is totally okay. It depends on what assignment though...




My best subjects were reading and writing so I had no problem doing the work last minute. But for math, I designated a special time to complete the assignment because I couldn't knock it out in a short amount of time.


College is fast-paced and professors don't wait on you to finish assignments. In fact, they aren't going to allow it (unless they are kind). Make sure to manage your time wisely. Sometimes, professors allow you a limited amount of free passes on assignments for a whole semester. Use those wisely (and rarely) for the assignments you literally cannot do.




Attend School Events!


I can guarantee you that your school has an event almost every day or every weekend. Trust me, I go to a new school and there are TONS of opportunities to hang out or grab some free food in courtesy of a club. These events can be awkward but full of opportunities for your career or to make friendships!


Being involved was crucial for me to use my networking skills (or when my balance was running low). I ended up having a good time talking to others even though I feel awkward and mousy. I enjoyed the involvement fairs the most because clubs would give out cool shirts, pens, jagswag (as we like to call it), and info about their services.


If you're living on campus, you'd want to know about the services you pay for such as counseling, writing centers, tutoring help, and much more!




Get Your Priorities Straight


In college, we all get a little carried away. Life can't be all about books and conserving meal plan money. It's nice to chill out on the weekends with some friends whether that's partying or a sleepover under the RA's noses.


But remember why you're in college to begin with! This is the start of your higher education and you don't want to start off on the wrong foot. We all deserve a little bit of fun but make sure you're around people you're comfortable with, your drinking responsibly, or that you have a ride back home. Be cautious about the new (or same) area your living in. Unfortunately in SA, human trafficking is a huge problem.


These are your fun years, but don't forget to be safe, be cautious, and know the resources in your area to report anything suspicious.


If your not a morning person, don't sign up for them just because you did it in high school. Know how your brain functions at various times of the day so you can schedule your classes around those times (tsk tsk me).




Oh yeah, have fun! College doesn't last very long!

69 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page